CM Punk: Cult of Personality

CM Punk just returned last Monday on Raw. And even if he’s only been gone a week, damn I had goosebumps all over. He came back with a new entrance theme to boot. Most, including me, find his new theme quite awesome (this was also used for Stone Cold Steve Austin Hall of Fame induction video package).  He first used the ‘Cult of Personality them during his stint in Ring of Honor. And if there’s one superstar on the roster that should be using this badass track by the legendary Living Colour, it ‘s CM Punk.

I mean, look at the lyrics (especially those who didn’t like it):

(And during the few moments that we have left
We want to talk right down to earth
In a language that everybody here can easily understand)

Look in my eyes
What do you see?
The cult of personality

I know your anger, I know your dreams
I’ve been everything you want to be
Oh, I’m the cult of personality

Like Mussolini and Kennedy
I’m the cult of personality
The cult of personality
The cult of personality

Neon lights, a Nobel prize
When a mirror speaks, the reflection lies
You don’t have to follow me
Only you can set me free

I sell the things you need to be
I’m the smiling face on your TV
Oh, I’m the cult of personality

I exploit you, still you love me
I tell you, one and one makes three
Oh, I’m the cult of personality

Like Joseph Stalin and Gandhi
I’m the cult of personality
The cult of personality
The cult of personality

Neon lights, a Nobel prize
When a leader speaks, that leader dies
You won’t have to follow me
Only you can set you free

You gave me fortune, you gave me fame
You me power in your God’s name
I’m every person you need to be
Oh, I’m the cult of personality

——-

That song IS CM Punk. Now, it’s arguable that CM Punk’s return was a bit premature, but let’s see where this goes. I CAN’T wait till next week. Feels, great to be a wrestling fan nowadays, eh? I haven’t been this excited for Raw every week in quite a long time now.

 

Move over John Cena, you’ve done good for yourself these past few years, but there’s a new top star in the wrestling world. And he’s just getting started.

You know it.

About McMorrison

Ordinary guy. Lots of thoughts. Love to write. Movies. Music. Video games. Sports. Socially relevant issues. Politics. Oh yes. Things happening around the world. Yours. And Mine. Wanna get it out there. Wanna be a pro! Yeah, you heard me!

Posted on July 26, 2011, in Wrestling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
    I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back very soon.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a
    nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

